Awards season in Branson is heating up as the winners of the annual Branson Show Awards were announced at Jerry Presley’s God & Country Theatres. 

For nearly a decade the Branson Show Awards, created by Gary R. Wackerly, has honored “outstanding entertainers in Branson.” The nominees are carefully reviewed by a non-biased Award Committee who personally attend every show before announcing the nominations and selected winners. 

The winners are: 

Entertainers of the Year: The cast of “Clay Cooper’s Country Express.”

Male Entertainer of the Year: Michael Jason Frost

Female Entertainer of the Year: Janice Martin

Emcee of the Year: Mike Patrick from “Grand Jubilee”

Male Vocalist of the Year: Dan Keeton from “Branson’s Famous Baldknobbers Gospel Show”

Female Vocalist of the Year: Chelsie Odom from “Beach Boys California Dreamin,’” “Thank You For The Music: A Modern Tribute to Abba” and “Raiding the Country Vault.”

Vocal Group of the Year: The cast of “Six.”

Duet of the Year: George and Clarise Dyer

Band of the Year: Grand Country Music Hall’s Rhinestone Mafia

Illusionist of the Year: Rick Thomas from “Mansion of Dreams.”

Tribute Artist of the Year: Mike Walker from “Lasting Impressions”

Impressionist of the Year: Jeff Brandt from “Hamner’s Unbelievable Variety Show.”

Comedian of the Year: James Sibley from “Pierce Arrow” and “Pierce Arrow Decades.”

Dance Troupe of the Year: The cast of “Broadway’s Greatest Hits.”

Variety Show of the Year: “The Hughes Music Show.”

Morning Show of the Year: “The Doug Gabriel Show.”

Family Show of the Year: “Samson”

Tribute Show of the Year: “Legends in Concert.”

Comedy Show of the Year: “The Sons of Britches”

Gospel Show of the Year: “Baldknobbers Gospel Show.”

Matinee Show of the Year: “#1 Hits of the 60s, & 50s, too.”

Instrumentalist of the Year: Forrest Herzog.

Lead Guitar Player of the Year: Grant Moody.

Bass/Upright Player of the Year: Kelly Black.

Drummer of the Year: Rob Blackburn.

Fiddler of the Year: Nathan Agdeppa.

Steel Guitar Player of the Year: Tim Prososki.

Keyboard Player of the Year: R.P. Harrell and David Brooks.

Patriotic Salute of the Year: “The Hughes Music Show.”

Christmas Show of the Year: “The Hughes Brothers’ Christmas Show.”

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.